Home > CRM Free Utilities, Productivity > CRM Role Updater Codeplex

CRM Role Updater Codeplex

Those of us who deploy, administer or configure CRM know that updating Security Roles can be a time consuming process.  We also know that  It doesn’t take long for security role updates to become laborious, tedious and honestly, I make us wish we could spend our time doing other, more fun things in CRM.

So what’s a customizer to do?  You guessed it, my good friend and fellow MVP Tanguy to the rescue.  Tanguy created a nice Role Updater utility and made it available to the community for use.  I use it and love it so here’s a high level walk-through.

First,  you will need to download the utility and save it to a folder.  You can then open the folder and run the Role Updater application.

image

You’ll first receive a Welcome screen.  Here you will click on the Select your CRM 2011 Organization and create a New Connection:

image

Select the Create New Connection button and enter the information requested.  You can mouse over the fields to display information regarding the values needed for each field.

image

Your connection information will be saved for future use.

You will see a list of security roles available after the connection is made.  You can select All, one or hold the CNTRL key to select multiple.

image

You can now select Privileges you want to modify from the list on the right, choose the Level and select Next when you are finished.

image

 

It is that simple.  Once your updates are complete, in my case it took only a few seconds, you can continue configuring additional privileges or exit the tool.   Although it is not necessary, I generally like to spot check the roles to ensure updates were made as expected.

Let’s do a little calculation to discover how many clicks this tool save me.  In 99.9 % of my implementations, I recommend to the client that we remove the delete rights from all security roles for all entities and activities.  My recommendation is to use the Close / Cancel for Activities and Deactivate option to remove records from view rather than delete.  The reason is pretty obvious, deactivating or closing a record is recoverable, deleting is not.  Considering this change only, the tool saves me at least 20 clicks per security role.  If I have to change 10 roles, well, that’s 200 clicks.

This is a terrific time saver when implementing a new CRM system, a new Custom Entity or any time that you have multiple changes to Security Roles.  This is now my ‘Go To’ tool for Security Role changes.

Thanks again Tanguy for another great tool.

Cheers

@edwardsdna

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,341 other followers

%d bloggers like this: